Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Complete newbie - please help

Hello all,

Well user name says it all. I am an intern (senior resident...what a horrible typo) and just got to this website. Have read some investment books but still feel confused

Is there any consice resource or a "book list" that answers/guides me to:

1. What are the different types of retirement accounts: 401k, IRA etc and difference between them?

2. What are their tax implications?

3. Basic tax 101

4. Asset allocation: Basically I have a fidelity account but have NO clue where to put money or how to split it up

Thats is all that is coming to mind but I suppose a good 5 would be how to be an entrepreneur etc

Thank you all! (now back to searching this website for nuggets)

I think White Coat Investor's book is a great primer. You can also take a look at his "recommending reading" section here.

Comment

I was a newbie this time last year and still have a ton to learn. Start with WCI classic blogs, his book, and some of the bogleheads guide to ... books.. that gave me the best base going forward. Good luck!

Comment

To answer your questions:

1&2) Both a traditional IRA and 401k/403b are "tax deferred" retirement accounts, meaning you get a tax deduction now when you contribute to them, but will eventually have to pay taxes on them when you taken money out of the account. 401k/403b accounts are employer-sponsored while IRA are exactly that: Individual Retirement Accounts. A Roth IRA's tax implications are slightly different. You are not allowed deduct any taxes when you contribute to it, but when the money comes out in retirement, it is tax-free. You can contribute up to $18k/year to a 401k/403b and $5,500/year toward an IRA

The general consensus for the type of account to which you should contribute while in residency is as follows: 401k up to your employer match (ie free money) --> Roth IRA --> 401k (portion that your employer doesn't match) --> taxable account.