Do I need a CPA for my taxes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need a CPA for my taxes?

So, I'm a new grad in a W2 position with some 1099 income left over from moonlighting, who moved from California to Texas.  I'll likely wind up with a scattering of 1099 income again next year.  My wife is part of a few LLCs (one in Louisiana and one in Mississippi, though the later doesn't produce much), due to some death and inheritances, and so gets a couple of K1s a year.  She's also a full time student set to graduate next fall.

Do I need a CPA?  Last year we paid someone (it wasn't a bad price, and they're really only around during tax time, but I'd also prefer someone I could meet with face to face), and I kind of felt like they just plugged my data into some tax software, and that was it.  If I don't need a CPA, should I just Turbo Tax or H&R Block software it?

If I do need a CPA, anyone have a recommendation in the DFW area, preferably the northern Dallas suburbs?

Thanks!

Yes, you need a CPA. No, I don't know of anyone around DFW but I can check around for you. I am traveling today so it may be a day or so.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

When I first joined my group, I asked a senior partner for a recommendation for an accountant, and he told me that I did not need one. For the first ten plus years or so in practice, I did my own taxes. I learned about Schedule H (household employees), managed my wife's then independent contractor job (Schedule C) and my own consulting (1099) income, did the kids' taxes, added a couple K-1s later on, did some Roth conversions, etc., all using TurboTax. Finally, when I purchased state tax credits at the advice of my then financial advisor, the software could no longer accommodate it, and I started using an accountant.