Asset allocation re: small-cap value vs. bonds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asset allocation re: small-cap value vs. bonds

Hello all, wanted to get some opinions from you. I am an investing novice, so please not too harsh with the criticism!

My current AA is: 50% US total stock or S&P 500, 25% INTL stock, 25% US bond. I'm happy with that equity/bond allocation, fits my risk tolerance. However, it seems that many people recommend slightly tilting my US stock holdings towards some small-cap value in order to increase returns. That sounds good, but then I was thinking if I really wanted to increase returns (and increase risk) then, why not just decrease my bond allocations from 75/25 to 80/20 or 85/15?

Why slice-and-dice on the equity side when I could just as easily decrease bond holdings?

Hello all, wanted to get some opinions from you. I am an investing novice, so please not too harsh with the criticism!

My current AA is: 50% US total stock or S&P 500, 25% INTL stock, 25% US bond. I’m happy with that equity/bond allocation, fits my risk tolerance. However, it seems that many people recommend slightly tilting my US stock holdings towards some small-cap value in order to increase returns. That sounds good, but then I was thinking if I really wanted to increase returns (and increase risk) then, why not just decrease my bond allocations from 75/25 to 80/20 or 85/15?

Why slice-and-dice on the equity side when I could just as easily decrease bond holdings?

By doing this you will take an additional risk by increasing equity allocation ,but not going to get SCV tilt .You will get proportional increase into large caps,mid caps ,REIT and still have the same % of small caps. Remember "stocks are to eat,bonds-to sleep"

Comment

Larry Swedroe explains it best: http://www.etf.com/sections/index-investor-corner/22649.html?nopaging=1 "The Larry Portfolio".