Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 403b vs. Private investment

Hello,

I'm a current resident, planning to pay off my student loans with the 10 year Public Service Loan Forgiveness program. I've been able to max out my Roth IRA contributions and the 403b contributions that are matched by my employer. I still have a little bit of investment money left over. Is there any advantage to putting it in to the non-matched 403b retirement fund? Or would I be better off putting in into a different investment vehicle (like an index fund or Wealthfront)?

I think most people would say to put it into your retirement account.  You'll never get the opportunity to go back and utilize that tax deferred space again.  You can always put more in a taxable account later on if you think you have too much in retirement accounts.  I think there are many doctors that have a hard time putting money into retirement plans because we max them so fast.  My wife will be a state employee next year, between 403b and 457 she'll only be able to get 18% of her income into tax deferred plans.  As an independent contractor I am only able to get about 12.5% of my income into tax deferred plans.  This is a good problem for us but we are happy we put as much in as possible during residency.

Comment

I have a little different perspective from Dicast. As a resident, you are probably in a low tax bracket and the tax deduction won't mean as much to you as it will later. If your 403b is a really good plan, use that space. If not, you can probably do better on your own. Of course, this assumes that you have an emergency fund, don't have high interest cc or car debt, etc. Then the answer is "neither" - use it to improve your balance sheet.
      Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment