Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fidelity Funds

Hi All,

New to the forum and excited to join the community. I am in my last year of residency and starting to max out my roth iras. I have been mainly investing in the S&P 500 index fund and have done pretty well over the last year or two. However, I think that we are probably heading towards a bear market so want to transition my remaining cash into safe bond funds for now. Any advice on a safer mutual fund (I guess bond fund?) with fidelity? Or should I just continue putting money into the index fund (FUSEX). ? I have around 50k saved during residency and would like to allocate it wisely. I was thinking of paying off some of my loans, but thinking that first I want to allocate enough into investments and then maybe start paying off my loans. I still have one year left of fellowship.

continue putting money into the index fund (FUSEX)

Comment

hi, welcome.

first off, why s&p and not a total market fund?

second, total bond is fine. ftbfx

third, you should write down a plan. this willy nilly add and subtract wont work long term.

Comment

Thanks peds. I agree with you..i gotta make a plan. I think sp500 and total market funds would give you very similar returns...no specific reason that I chose sp500. I feel like I don't have that many investment options so it's easy to either put money in bond or stock index funds.

Do y'all recommend investing in bond funds in this market climate?

Comment

Expected people to jump and say stop timing the market, then I realized this isn't the bogelheads forum.

Comment