Cryptocurrencies in your portfolio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cryptocurrencies in your portfolio

I imagine this is not a popular topic in these forums as this is still almost an entirely speculative investment space, but was curious as to if there were any others with cryptocurrencies in their portfolio?

A little about myself...I’m a recent graduate of residency who had followed bitcoin for years and began investing a little over a year ago. I was in a somewhat unique situation in that I didn’t have massive student loan debt and then the debt that I had was bought (or is now held) by a family member that charges me 1.5% interest. My wife and I’s Roth’s were maxed and I was in no hurry to pay off student loans given the terms so I took money I had made from individual stocks (think FANG) as well as profits from selling the house we bought right before residency (again, a fair amount of luck) and rolled them into BTC and ETH initially. I started buying/trading lower cap alt coins that also exploded in value and now hold a significant amount of bitcoin. Or at least a portfolio that is worth a significant amount of bitcoin as I hold a handful of non-BTC crypto (or alt coins). If BTC gets to $30k by the end of the year, I will likely be a “crypto millionaire.”

My initial investment was recouped a long time ago and profits have been used to fully fund wife’s 401k and family HSA in 2017. Also, while I answer questions honestly, I have made zero attempts at convincing family or friends to put money into crypto. I don’t want to deal with the trouble/animosity that lost $ can bring. That being said I find both the technology and the markets fascinating and am always trying to learn more.