Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What do we know about deferred comp/non gov 457b with new tax bill?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do we know about deferred comp/non gov 457b with new tax bill?

I have been maxing this out for the last several years but recently found out there will be major changes.  Should I continue contributing for 2018 (pros and cons)?  What will happen to my current balance in the non gov 457b?

I've got an email draft ready to go to our plan representative. It's unclear to me, but the language makes it sound like we could get socked with a bunch of taxable income all at once. From Michael Kitces:

"– Crackdown on Deferred Compensation. A proposal from the House GOP plan that remained in the final TCJA legislation will crack down on nonqualified deferred compensation plans, triggering taxation as soon as there is “no substantial risk of forfeiture” (i.e., when it becomes vested, regardless of when it is paid). And the new rules would extend to a wider range of stock options and stock appreciation rights under new “Qualified Equity Grant” rules. Expect to see a lot of revising to various deferred compensation plans in the coming year."

I would argue there's still substantial risk of forfeiture since the money's at risk if the employer goes belly up in the future, but I don't know how the IRS will interpret things.

Comment

I’ve got an email draft ready to go to our plan representative. It’s unclear to me, but the language makes it sound like we could get socked with a bunch of taxable income all at once. From Michael Kitces: