Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asset allocation

Hi,

My wife and I are both 1st yr ER attendings and both naive to the exciting world of finance.

I practice in employee model and have work 401k which offers descent Schwab ETFs and an HSA with Vanguard total stock/bond options. My wife is an independent contractor. Im getting ready to open up solo-401k for my wife at Vanguard.

After reading handful of books and consistently following WCI, i have decided 80/20 stock/bond distribution.

My question is, should i focus on his and hers asset allocations separately or should i try and design a combined portfolio to ultimately show the 80/20 that i desire? Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Sorry if the question is too basic or vague, I am very new to this field and I truly appreciate everyones time and input.

Not knowing anything about your overall situation, my simple reply is to focus on each separately. Keep each 401 K at your desired asset allocation. After you have maximized your tax advantaged accounts, then you can consider how best to utilize the taxable accounts. In the taxable I would stay with more tax efficient assets (i.e. VTSAX and VWITX or the like) and rebalance with new money as needed (like once a year maybe). Learn about backdoor Roth IRA's early on and keep reading WCI and asking questions. You won't be naive for long. Good Luck!

Comment

If you are new to investing, keep it simple and stick to 80/20 or a reasonable allocation in each account separately.  I think WCI had a post along these lines pretty recently.  As you get more comfortable with tracking your entire portfolio across accounts, you can do things like rebalancing across your entire portfolio or tax optimization by putting all bonds in tax deferred accounts.  The key is to invest early and often and not get stuck in analysis paralysis mode.  Once you get comfortable investing you can start fine tuning.

Comment