Help with my first passively managed portfolio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with my first passively managed portfolio

I have about $40K dollars to invest that will mostly be in a solo 401k at Charles Schwab by next month. I am a 30 year old physician. Due to the my small pot of money, there was only one vanguard fund I could invest in with Admiral. The expense ratios (ER) in the Schwab accounts seem to be lower than the Vanguard Investor. Can some of you look at the portfolio I have made up and see if this is reasonable and what suggestions you may have?

• 60% Equities

• 30% US Stock Market

• Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Admiral Shares

• VTSAX

• ER 0.04%

• $10,000 minimum, $1 for more

• $12,000

• 15% Small US Stocks

• Schwab Small Cap Index Fund

• SWSSX

• ER 0.05%

• $1000 minimum, $1000 for more

• $6000

• 15% International Stocks

• Schwab International Index Fund

• SWISX

• ER 0.06%

• $6000

• 5% Small international Stocks

• Vanguard International FTSE Small Cap ETF

• VSS

• ER 0.13%

• no minimum

• $2000

• 10% REITs

• 10% REITs

• Vanguard REIT ETF

• VNQ

• ER 0.12%

• no minimum

• $4000

• 25% Bonds

• 10% TIPS

• Schwab Treasury Inflation Protected Security TIPS

• SWRSX

• ER 0.05%

• $4000

• 15% Total US Bond Market

• Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Investor Shares

• VBMFX

• ER 0.25%

• $3000 minimum, $1 for more

• $6000

What do you want your portfolio to do? How do you want it to do that?

That's a lot of bonds, esp a lot of TIPS. That's a high weighting of small caps, too - VTSAX is 70/20/10, which basically gives you just over a third in small, more than 3x of "usual." If you want those things, that's fine.

So figure out exactly what you want your portfolio to do, and then you can go from there. People call this an "investing policy statement."

What other accounts do you have available beyond just an individual 401(k)? I imagine you probably have an IRA as well?

Comment