Paralysis by analysis.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paralysis by analysis.

I'm just getting into investing money by myself. To give you some background...

Stage of Life: Spouse is a dentist and owns a dental practice. We are in our mid 30s. We save about $150-250k/year. We live frugally and in a rural area.

Social Situation:Married 4 kids ages 11,9,7,5.

Annual Income: 650k filling jointly

Net Worth: Rough estimate 1.3M-1.6M

Tax Bracket: our state tax is around 4.5% but you can guess federal.

State of residence: West

Insurance Policies:

Term life for both of us. 2M for spouse 750k for me.

Debts:

8k-auto loan

No other debts.

Assets:

401(k)- $130k with American Funds.

Personal [email protected] 4.5%--We loaned my BIL money to pay off his student loans (he is in a derm residency) -I know lending to a family member is a bad idea...we feel comfortable doing this)

IRA-$12k-I need to move this to somewhere else the fees on this investment suck.

$324k- cash--I know we need to invest but in what?

$24k- in a savings account for our kids. Needs to be in a 529.

$18k- HSA account

$190k-house

$200k-Office building

$650k-Dental practice +/-100k

Questions:

1. If I wanted to switch our 401(k) over to vanguard would that be a good idea?

2. Are back door roth IRAs worth it for us?

3. Should I just take our cash and put it into Vanguard funds? Is this a tax efficient idea?

4. Are 529 plans the way to go still? Doesn't AZ have a good plan? Why wouldn't we just invest it in their names and they can do whatever they want @ 18?

5. Any advice in general?

2. Are back door roth IRAs worth it for us?