Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• calculating Physician Net Worth Rule from WCI Book

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to investing with intention and recently purchased the WCI book.  I posted my financial snapshot on BogleHeads Forum before I realized there was one here!  Would it be redundant to repeat that post here?  I wouldn't want to post unnecessarily but would appreciate any help I can get.

About this post, I was thinking about the Physician Net Worth Rule written in the book and was wondering ... am I calculating things right?

155k x 6yrs in practice x 0.3 - 200k = 79k Expected Physician Net Worth

I currently have about 178k.  While I initially feel good compared to the result of the calculation, I now wonder if my math was wrong.  In addition, if I factor that the national average for family physicians starting out of residency is now 230k these days and do the calculation with that, then I am actually behind!

Thanks for your insight.

its supposed to be: (avg post residency income) x (years since training) x (0.25)

so for you: 155 x 6 x 0.25 = 230K

what is the 200 you put in your formula?

Comment

the national average income for starting FP is 230?  i imagine it is increased by hospitalists?   it will be bimodal in distribution rather than normal distribution?  or maybe i don't know anything about family medicine.  

Comment

That's a pretty nifty formula. It estimated my net worth almost exactly!

Comment

its supposed to be: (avg post residency income) x (years since training) x (0.25)

so for you: 155 x 6 x 0.25 = 230K

what is the 200 you put in your formula?

Yours is from the original blog post. I modified it a bit for the book. The update is to reflect the fact that most docs start out as attendings with a negative net worth. Average debt is $200K, so that's where the $200K comes from.
          Helping those who wear the white coat get a fair shake on Wall Street since 2011

Comment

Hi Everyone,