Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

advice on asset allocation (new investor)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• advice on asset allocation (new investor)

Hello, I am new to investment. Would love any comments/feedback regarding the below asset allocation.

I'm 36. Would like to be aggressive. Do not plan to touch these investments until retirement. 30-year investment horizon. Do you think the following asset allocation is reasonable and appropriate?

OPTION 1:
    Total Stock Market Index Fund 50%
    Mid Cap Index fund 10%
    Small Cap Index fund 10%
    Total international index fund 15%
    Emerging Markets 5%
    REITs index fund 10%

Option 2:
    Institutional Index Fund 35%
    Mid Cap Index fund 10%
    Small Cap Index fund 10%
    Total international index fund 25%
    Emerging Markets 10%
    REITs index fund 10%

All Vanguard funds. When I enter 40, I will rebalance to 10-20% bonds, and increase bond ratio over the years.

Does it make more sense to invest in separate index funds for different cap sizes and style, or simply use the Total US Stock with additional tilt? Did I "tilt" correctly? Are there too much overlapping funds?

I'm think of putting small/mid caps in Roth.
    Institutional or total US stock and REITs in IRA/401
    leftover International and emerging in brokerage account.

I currently have around 400K that I would like to rebalance correctly to an appropriate asset allocation for the long-term.

Thanks so much.

I would just do VTI & VXUS and keep it simple but what you described seems fine

Comment

Tilting is a personal decision.

Your options above are reasonable. Option 1 is better.

Could improve further by getting rid of the mid-cap fund and small-cap fund, and allocating that 20% to small-cap value fund.

I actually like the allocation that results.

If you want to be aggressive and have a 30-year horizon, forget about the bonds at 40yo.

Consider going to 10% at 50yo, and glide to 20-25% by 60-65yo.