Which company is best?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which company is best?

I'm a 4th year medical student about to enter residency this July. My wife and I have contributed to our ROTH accounts for 2 years now. Mine is at Vanguard with a 0.15% roboadvisor fee and it picks the investments for me (which I don't like and would rather manage it myself). My wife's is at TD Ameritrade because she googled it and it didn't charge us a fee to manage and I can choose the asset allocation myself (I've just done VTI and VXUS for us both so far).

My plan: I plan to mainly use index funds like VTI and VXUS and bonds later (the standard WCI stuff). I also want to have the flexibility to do a backdoor ROTH and move money through accounts freely when the time comes in the future (like mega backdoor Roth) and any other pro moves if that's best for our situation. I also use MINT for finances and would like things to sync well (TD Ameritrade is been a pain in the rear to sync on MINT).

My question: Which company is best?
    I know there are limitations with each company (like I heard vanguard doesn't let you do some type of rollover or individual 401K?) I want to be able to do everything like all the pro moves, but I also don't want to get charged random fees that I don't need (like the robo advisor).

If we were to move our 2 Roth accounts to one company for simplicity sake (and then we plan to start ALL of our future accounts in that same company) which company would you go with? If you were starting all over, which company would you start out with?

Thank you for your help.

Don't you have to pay a fee to TD Ameritrade each time you buy a vanguard fund? If you're at Vanguard, you don't pay to buy.

You know you can just stop doing the roboadvisor at vanguard, right? You must have opted to do that at some point. I'm sure you can cancel anytime and then that .15 fee goes away.