Asset Allocation Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asset Allocation Question

I am new to investing and am setting up a tax effect asset allocation among my different accounts - I have a 401K, Roth IRA's (for both my wife and I), and a taxable accounts.

Looking at the values of my accounts - my taxable account is going to be way way bigger than my tax sheltered accounts. My goal is to have 25% of my investments in bonds. Since bonds are not tax efficient, I will be putting 100% of my 401K and Roths into bonds. A few questions about this:

1) Is it normal to have all of your tax sheltered accounts in bonds?

2) My 401K doesn't have great bond fund options. Would VFIUX (Vanguard Intermediate Term Treasury Fund) be a good option for bond investments?

Welcome to the forum. Do not put bonds into a Roth. You want your high return assets here. Put bonds into tax deferred which means you pay no tax on the interest they pay. It also lessens your RMDs down the road. If you do not have room in your tax deferred accounts then buy Muni bonds in your taxable account. I have most of my bonds in my tax deferred. It depends on your asset allocation. Vanguard bond funds are fine.

Comment

Agree with Hatton.

sure, VFIUX is fine. I actually prefer the total bond market index though.

Comment

Third vote for no bonds in Roth. If there isn’t enough room for your bond AA in your 401k/403b then buy munis in taxable (VWIUX or similar), depending on your tax rate.

Comment

Originally posted by Hatton View Post
          Welcome to the forum. Do not put bonds into a Roth. You want your high return assets here. Put bonds into tax deferred which means you pay no tax on the interest they pay. It also lessens your RMDs down the road. If you do not have room in your tax deferred accounts then buy Muni bonds in your taxable account. I have most of my bonds in my tax deferred. It depends on your asset allocation. Vanguard bond funds are fine.