Deferred Compensation Plan

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deferred Compensation Plan

I'm an incoming intern, and have some questions about things I heard during HR orientation. This guy came in and was telling all the interns to fill out a form to defer paying into social security. Instead using that money to "pay themselves". He said that money would actually go into a Target Day fund, based on your birthday. He told everyone they should do it today. I was a little skeptical because I don't like anyone telling me I need to do something right away. After his talk, I asked him a some questions and found out that he is works for Empower Retirement and there is an annual fee of 0.18% of the first $50,000, with a quarterly fee of $2.50 up to $5,555.56, with 0.045% charged after that.

I'm not sure if this is a good plan. I became even more leary when I told him that I will think about it and not sign up today, he said well social security is going broke. Which may be true, I just felt like it was a scare tactic, to get me and all my colleagues to sign up. By the way most of them were signing up without asking questions.

I'm wondering everyone's thoughts. Is this a good plan? Can I defer social security and invest in something else? Should I not pay into Social Security?  I've read in WCI that residents should invest in Roth 401 (K)/403 (B) or Roth IRA.

Something is rotten in Denmark. Taxpayers cannot indiscriminately "opt out" of SS. The most common exemption is for members of the clergy who opt out on the basis of "religious principles to accepting public insurance" on penalty of perjury. I have known clergy who have used this option to save $$ and they have later regretted it. I have no sympathy for them, fwiw.

• I would have strong suspicions about the above (your post).

Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment