Newbie portfolio review

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie portfolio review

Hi all, I’m new here but I’ve been reading and learning from WCI for the last 6 weeks approximately. My background is that I’m in private practice in surgery, with a stay at home wife (who is on my payroll) and two kids, 17&15 (also on the payroll). I’m very impressed with the underlying theme of frugality by many of the posters in this group and although I tend to be fiscally conservative I do spend on the finer things as long as I am convinced I can afford to. My concern is a sense of professional burnout due to the stress of my career and I was hoping to get some financial perspective from the group as to where I am financially in case I decide to retire the scalpel. I realize my kids will be starting college soon so that is a big financial burden I will have to incur so I understand I may have to continue working until their education is done. I live in a high cost of living area and spend plenty on vacations as I feel it’s necessary for my kids to see the world that most others their age will never get a chance to see and growing up I never had the family resources to do what I’m able to do now. I’ve been out of residency for almost 16 years.

Details:
    Primary residence estimated value 1.45 million with 637k loan balance at 2.5% as a 7/1 ARM maturing in 7/2027
    Rental property #1 value 750k with 357k loan balance at 3% as a 7/1 ARM maturing in 12/2024, net monthly income $330
    Rental property #2 value 300k fully paid off, net income $2,115 per month
    Student loan balance 123k at 2.75%, monthly payment $1,250, still have about 14 years left (I know most here are obsessed with reducing this ASAP but I am not, feel free to chastise me)
    Porsche & BMW fully owned with no loan (I like my toys) and I know some will get angry at me but I am getting a new Tesla model Y with a bank loan at 1.79% for 5 years ($975 per month payment)