Advice for a newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for a newbie

Hi WCI members, I am a relative newbie to the world of finance in general. I am really hoping for some sound advice. I managed to pick the worst strategy and the worst times to invest (almost every stocks I chose and Active ETFs were at all time high when I started investing a month back)...and now in a matter of 1 month, I am staring at a 100k loss, out of an investment of 700K.

1. While some of these stocks are stocks that I would own for life(like apple) and hence not too worried about it, I am not sure about the quality of others ...For example, FIVERR, APPIAN, SQUARE, PAYPAL, LMND, TTD, ROKU, MELI...and all the ARK ETF funds...I would say that almost 30 to 40% of my money are in the above mentioned stocks....and they have been crushed in the last 2 weeks!
    2. Astonishingly, when they started falling, I started putting more into these individual stocks in an attempt to dollar cost average....and need I say more..that turned out to be the most stupid thing I have done as it has left me worse off!!
    3. I have learnt my lesson and would not be looking into individual stocks in the future...Index funds it will be.....However, with regards to my current predicament, I would greatly appreciate any advice....Are the above stocks and ARK ETFs reasonably good enough for me to just hold, and would you recommend that I ride this out and be patient...or should I be doing what many seem to be doing, which is selling. Personally I dont want to sell, but I am not sure if that is the right thing or if I am just continuing to be stupid...If any one own the above stocks and/or Cathie Wood ARK funds, I would love to hear your thoughts..

Thanks a bunch and sorry about the long post.

https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/creations/
    Educate yourself.

https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/15...er-than-yours/
    Some examples

Comment

TLH then

Originally posted by rescuebot View Post