Where to start with investment education

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to start with investment education

Thanks so much for the website and forum. I am a PGY4 in an ortho residency. I plan on doing a fellowship afterwards so have about two more years in training prior to making an attendings salary.  I have no idea why I have given little thought to investing and retirement planning but I am way behind and need to catch up. I just watched an investment which opened my eyes and finished the WCI book yesterday.  I am a newbie in this realm but want to immerse myself so that I can prepare for the future and manage my own retirement and assets, as well as prepare my own taxes.  I am looking for the next step. Is there a go to book for beginners that explains all the differences btw 401k, roth, backdoor roth, HSA, college savings accounts, etc?? As well as general tax code info? As well as general investment planning.  I am also looking for a phone app or computer program that assists with planning. Such as laying out timelines for investments (when to start 401, roth, CSA, HSA and how much money can be allocated to each.) I know this website has additional forums and topics but the information is overwhelming and I am looking for a roadmap as I navigate the beginning steps.

Thank you!

I'm on my phone right now so difficult to post links, but google boglehead wiki getting started. Videos and articles on just about everything.
    Of course WCI book, plus the bogkeheads guide to investing.

Comment

WCI has an excellent post on DIY investing. I wrote a 20 step DIY investing post as well, and may expand that into 20 more detailed posts.

Bogleheads is an excellent resource, as @RetireERdoc mentioned. There are many other books you may want to check out. I started with The Only Investment Guide You'll Ever Need by Andrew Tobias, which was recently updated.