Tax loss harvesting - basic questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tax loss harvesting - basic questions

I had a question for the veteran investors on the forum. I recently purchased a large lot (lumpsum) of the Vanguard Tax Managed Small Cap Index fund (VTMSX). It appears that I bought it at one of the many peaks, that relatively volatile indices like this one incur. I have a potentially harvestable loss of ~$1500. However, I have no experience with tax loss harvesting.

1. When does one bite the bullet and perform tax loss harvesting? Do I need to wait for a Brexit like situation where there is a sizable dip in the amount, or can I book this as a loss at this time? I am favoring the latter.

2. Would VSMAX be a reasonable TLH partner to VTMSX? They seem to corelate for the most part, but don't follow the same index.

3. How do I go back to VTMSX at a later date?

4. Does Vanguard perform the exchange (or 'buy-sell' transaction) on the same day's price, or does the transaction get delayed by 24-48 hours?

I appreciate your insights.

1.  I tend to harvest any losses that exceed $1,000. The opportunity may not last (small caps are up nearly 1% today). The Brexit scenario was also a very brief dip. I got lucky and caught the nadir when I harvested losses then.

2. I would say yes. Both are small cap funds, which is good enough for me. I noticed the tax-managed fund has returnded 0.4% YTD with the regular small cap fund returning 3.7%. Interesting. Better to get a return and pay a bit of tax than to get very little return.

3. I wouldn't TLH unless you're comfortable staying in the new fund indefinitely. You can wait 31 days and do another exchange back to the original fund, but if the fund has any gains, you'll be taking some gains, offsetting the losses you just harvested. If the market is down more, by all means, harvest more losses after the 31 days have passed by exchanging back to the original fund.