Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joshua Kennon/Value Investing

Hi all,

I'm a medical student who is also interested in finance. I read Joshua Kennon's blog pretty religiously for a few years until he started his own asset management firm with his spouse and subsequently deleted a good portion of his blog. I'm all for indexing, and even Joshua is a proponent of indexing for the vast majority of investors. However, he is a very disciplined value investor. I am nowhere close to being able to analyze a business and determine at what price and on what terms a stock should be purchased, however, I'd love to learn that skill and apply it when I have my own funds to manage after residency. I'm wondering if being a value investor of the Joshua Kennon sort is reasonable alongside being a physician? Thanks WCI!

Jake

Highly unlikely. He is an incredibly smart, driven and fully immersed into business. Most doctors do not have that kind of time nor the training. He has both plus the experience.

Shame he deleted some of his blog he has great content.

Comment

I'm a value investor, but I spend very little time on it. I own both VSIAX (small cap value) and VMVAX (mid cap value) funds in my portfolio, creating a value tilt.

Comment

Hi all,