Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wealth through real estate

Sorry I am using all my good will as a newbie here

First, shout out to DMFA - I reallocated (even though that was your example, I found it compelling and have switched my money to mostly low fees index fidelity fund)

That being said, interested to know if anyone on this board primarily invested in real estate with stock investing as secondary/smaller portion of their asset.

You are probably not going to find many on this site with that sort of real estate-heavy asset allocation. If you are looking for a group of people who have the bulk of their assets in real estate, I'd suggest you check out Bigger Pockets.

Comment

I've got lots of readers with a significant real estate allocation, but I would bet that if I polled everyone there would be a larger percentage with stocks > real estate than real estate > stocks.

Real estate investing is a perfectly viable way to become wealthy. It has both pluses and minuses in comparison to stock investing. I see little reason that most people can't and shouldn't do both to some extent.
      Helping those who wear the white coat get a fair shake on Wall Street since 2011

Comment

I enjoy getting a monthly deposit into my account from my rental property--when things are going well (nothing broken, fully occupied, etc).  I also appreciate the quarterly dividends from my REIT funds with zero associated hassle.  I am envious of those making a true side-job-income with real estate, but I had fun skiing pow today with my kid as opposed to worrying about the forecasted flooding in my area.

Comment

Thanks for comments

I know about bigger pockets but that site is a) general b) confusing for a newcomer

I did some statistical analysis. Depending on the type of real estate investment, returns were a bit better than stocks with leverage of course.