Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tax loss harvesting rules

Hi all,

Question for the experts since I am a novice. I am considering starting a taxable account with Betterment. I also have my retirement accounts 401k, Roth etc with fidelity and plan to keep separate from Betterment.

Since Betterment provide tax loss harvesting with their funds usually vanguard funds. Would i be ok if I make sure that my Fidelty account stays away from vanguard funds to not violate and IRS wash rules.

Thanks so much

Betterment's portfolios have several ishares ETFs as secondary partners:  IVE, IWS, IWN, IEMG.  They also use schwab ETFs.  Are you investing in any of these?  Or anything that tracks the same indices?  You can post what you have in your 401k and Roth IRA if you're not sure.

https://www.betterment.com/portfolio/

I tend to agree with what WCI has written re: Betterment - if you know enough to keep your 401k and Roth IRA from violating wash sale rules, you probably know enough to do tax loss harvesting on your own.

Comment

Thanks for the reply.

Just look at my funds all of them are Fidelity funds i.e. Fidelity freedom or other Fidelty type funds, minus one MFS fund.

My understanding is as long as you hold funds That are not exact that should meet the IRS test, let's say my betterment account has a total Stock market Vanguard fund and I have a Fidelity total Stock market as well in an 401 k then I would not be violating the wash rule. Please let me know if I'm incorrect?

The reason I'm going with a Robo advisor for my taxable account is 1. It's super cheap , I think for $100,000 it's $150 a year and you get six months for free so it will come out to about $75 for the first year. 2. I feel like I need some guidance and education which hopefully I would get from Betterment 3. I think they would do a better job with tax loss harvesting then I would.