X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Investing a small amount of money in med school

Hi everyone,

Sorry if this question has already been asked --here goes:

I am a fourth year medical student who has taken a paid research year between third and fourth year. Because my research stipend exceeds my living expenses, I am trying to save up as much of my extra money as possible.

In the past, I have been terrible with money (including getting myself into tons of credit card debt, which I was able to consolidate into a low-interest private loan through my bank and am slowly paying off) and I want to put some money away at the end of the year before I spend it all.

I think I will be looking at ~$4K to save and invest at the end of my research year. For a small amount of money like this, what recommendations do you have for investing? I have zero financial knowledge so any advice is appreciated!

Thanks!

How much is the interest rate for the credit card consolidated loan.

Why not pay some of it. Other option is to use the $4K towards a Roth.

Comment

You might need to keep the 4K as an emergency fund.  Are your credit cards paid off?

Comment

I also did the extra research year and I had about $10000 "extra".  I used the money to buy a used car after my car had trouble, pay for interviews fourth year (this can be pricey), pay to move across the country, and had enough money to pay for my first month of rent during residency.  Remember that you likely will not get paid until 2-3 weeks into residency.  If it is possible try to avoid taking out any more loans for interviews/relocation and instead use this money.

Therefore, with $4000 I would either pay off the credit card debt or use it as an emergency fund and not invest it. If however you have family support and they are planning to help you with all of the above expenses then maybe you could invest it.

Comment