?s about parents advisor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ?s about parents advisor

I could use some advice. I have been a WCI disciple for a little over a year and it has been profoundly helpful for our personal financial picture. My 77 yo mother asked me to take a look at her portfolio. My father- her husband- passed away last summer. I am by no means a financial expert but from what I have learned thru the WCI I feel more educated. It appears her portfolio has a fair amount of loaded mutual funds with moderate to high expense ratios and a variable annuity and medallion annuity. I want to give my mom good advice but I get the feeling she could be getting "hosed" (to steal a Jim Dahle podcast word). I don't feel I have the skill or insight (yet) to help guide her. Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

Sorry to hear about your loss.  I'd say look to some of the fee only advisors that WCI has recommended on his site.  Probably no sense in wrestling around with the current FA to get into lower cost funds and have them still manage things.  If you're not comfortable managing things I'd get her a more reasonable FA soon.

Comment

Same happened to my parents, albeit they are in their 60s. They had some investments, basically annuities with the guaranteed no loss but capped at like 4-5% returns.

I understood these were terrible investments, but got them a fee by advisor, went to the meetings with them and slowly we have been pulling money out of the annuities into Vanguard. It's frustrating when the market is getting 20% returns, while your annuity is sitting at 4%.

Comment

Sorry, post got cut off. Anyways, I agree with the above. Get your mom a fee only advisor for $1-2k checkup and if you can do all their recommendations yourself, if not, transfer to Vanguard for their 0.35% fee instead.

Comment