Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I Keep My FA Or Only Invest Personally?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I Keep My FA Or Only Invest Personally?

I am a resident with 3-5 years left before attending time. I have been extremely lucky in life where I have no loans / debt and was gifted ~$150k in the form of a UTMA with a major financial institution / FA that also manages my parents' finances and the finances of everyone at my dad's business. I've contently let it just sit there being managed away by the FA until a few months ago when I got into WCI and looking more closely at my finances.

I've called the FA a few times. He says their fees are 1%, which seem to be reasonable as far as FAing goes. Given that he also manages the many accounts of people in my dad's company makes me also feel a little more comfortable seeing as that should be an additional incentive for him to be (somewhat) ethical. I've generally taken the mindset from WCI to be skeptical of all FAs in general.

Last month after reading WCI I removed $50,000 from the managed account with intentions to reinvest on my own in a taxable Vanguard account I have where I also have some holdings. He warned me that I would likely net taxed ~20% of what I remove overall. Perhaps too excited by my recent WCI and Boglehead reading I did so anyways.

My questions:
    #1: Should I have done that, or should I have left my holdings with him given the taxable event? (if I paid the Stupid Tax that's fine, would just like to know in retrospect)
    #2: Should I keep the rest of the $100,000 in the account with him to prevent future taxable events or should I remove it and reinvest in Vanguard index funds / ETFs? Or talk to him about reallocating in some way?