Is $1500 a good deal for FA?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is $1500 a good deal for FA?

My wife and I met with a fee-only FA recently. I’m just about to start my first job out of training. I was wanting to just meet for 1-2 times to develop a financial plan for us and our future family. Thanks to WCI I have disability insurance and will soon be getting term-life. We have no kids yet. All debts will be paid off within a couple of months. We are currently renting and saving for a down payment in a new home. We also have a small emergency fund. Honestly I think we are doing alright for where we are in our life (both around 30 yo). However, I just learned about finances over the last 12 months so I’m still a rookie. My wife has more faith in me than I do in myself and I would feel more comfortable having a professional look things over and give suggestions. The FA we talked to said he charged $1500 for an all inclusive “financial plan” which he showed us and includes most everything other than like tax planning. Wife thinks maybe we should seek another opinion and that it is too pricey. We are in the Midwest so it’s hard for me to find many FAs close to us but I like being able to meet in person. Any thoughts on if this is a reasonable deal or are we paying too much? Thanks!

maybe you don’t know enough and it’s a great deal because they’re a competent advisor and will start you off on the right foot maximizing your available retirement accounts, recommending a reasonable asset allocation and steering you to low cost index funds helping you avoid mistakes that would cost you much more in the long run etc etc

or maybe it’s a terrible deal because your situation is simple but they’ll show you data how their complex portfolio construction can beat the market and oh by the way they’ll try to sell you whole life insurance or some other garbage