need to divorce my CFP? how?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need to divorce my CFP? how?

I'm in my second year in PP. I have no current loans and have started to aggressively contribute to my 401K. I would love some help with our financial investor. My great friend gave us the name of her financial investor (AAMS, CFP). She's very hush hush about him and doesn't give it out often to "just anyone" so I guess I felt lucky. We just put in our first 401K contribution ($4500 monthly as we self match) and he send me an email with the following asset allocations suggestions:

$2000 alpine capital research
    $800- IVA world wide fund
    $800 first eagle global fund
    $700 in alpha core absolute return
    $200 cash

I've been reading WCI and now Physician on Fire aggressively and realize I'm getting myself into a trap with starting with a CFP rather than doing it myself (He charges 1%). So what do I do?? Change my mind and start doing in all myself? Stay with him for a year and try to learn-- then take over my accounts? And how the heck do I do that? In regards to pulling money that he was managing and now manage it myself? I'm concerned my friend will be disappointed all well. Ugh. Would love some help.

And any advice on the above allocation? He said the benefit of cash is "optionality to use when others are selling whenever we get into a cyclical downturn." Thanks kindly WCI!!

I’m in my second year in PP. I have no current loans and have started to aggressively contribute to my 401K. I would love some help with our financial investor. My great friend gave us the name of her financial investor (AAMS, CFP). She’s very hush hush about him and doesn’t give it out often to “just anyone” so I guess I felt lucky. We just put in our first 401K contribution ($4500 monthly as we self match) and he send me an email with the following asset allocations suggestions:

$2000 alpine capital research
    $800- IVA world wide fund