Not loving my financial advisor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not loving my financial advisor

Hello. I am a newbie to the WCI forum. I am a PGY-3 orthopedic resident. Due to a relatively slow past several weeks due to covid, I have taken the opportunity to dive into researching and reading personal finance, etc. I have a financial advisor, one of my childhood friends. I cringe as I write this but his firm charges an AUM model and he has tried unsuccessfully to sell me whole life insurance in the past. Honestly, I don't think he was trying to trick me. I do believe he was taught that whole life is a good strategy. Regardless, the point of my post is concerning my Roth IRA account I have with him. I have access to the schwab account that the account is housed at, although my financial firm is not schwab. Currently, it is invested in three mutual funds. RYSIX, RIOIX, RIHIX. Each of these funds has an expense ratio of 1.46. I am also apparently being charged a management fee of roughly 3% of the principle (6K) I contribute to it each year. This fee comes out every three months and I noticed it as I review the history of transactions on the account. There are also fairly frequent transactions in the account, which I suppose is based on the investment strategy. Furthermore when talking to my advisor, the strategy for this account is one essentially base on the past performance of certain funds for the last 3-6 months. He states that this strategy has yielded an average 9% return since 1995. After looking into this, 9% appears to be less than the average stock market return in that time frame. Furthermore, in 2019 my returns substantially underperformed the market. The more books and forum posts I read, I become less and less confident in the capabilities of my financial advisor and his firm and am wondering if I need to leave. I feel that investing in funds with Expense ratios of 1.46 are way way too high and would like to switch to a more passivel