What to ask FA candidate?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to ask FA candidate?

Hello, this is my first post. I am a 31 y/o dentist single no dependents. I associated 3 years after dental school and have owned my own office for 1 year now.
    i think I need a financial advisor or a serious plan because although I am good at saving money I am really bad at investing. I am interviewing financial advisors and need to know what to look for in a good one.
    i own my office real estate, 2019 income is about $450kish. Income will more than likely go up next year onwards. I only spend about $72k a year personally everything else is available for investing. Currently just sitting on about $200k liquid cash in a savings account outside of retirement accounts which are another $100kish. I still owe about $500k in student loans, which I am probably going to refinance. I know I will need a 401k for the office to start funneling pretax money into. But besides maxing out all retirement accounts I will most likely still have extra money to invest. Is it worth it to get a financial advisor? Or should I just buy indent funds by the bulk?

I am considering buying the white coat investor course package. Has it substantially helped all of you?

need help/guidance. Thank you

no to the advisor, no to the course, yes to index funds in bulk.

Comment

Can you give me more information? I find it very difficult to navigate the financial world and gain knowledge without someone constantly trying to sell me something

Comment

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Inve...ds%C2%AE_forum

Comment

Originally posted by Molarr View Post
          Can you give me more information? I find it very difficult to navigate the financial world and gain knowledge without someone constantly trying to sell me something
          it's not rocket science, open a fidelity or vanguard account, put money into index fund.

Comment