Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do I need a will? Or can I just designate beneficiaries?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need a will? Or can I just designate beneficiaries?

Hi, I am a single intern without any kids. I have $50k in life insurance through my residency program (free for me), I have ~$40k in a Roth IRA, and approximately $10k in the bank.

My plan was to leave $50k to one of my older brothers since both he and his wife combined make about what I make on my intern salary (if not less). And I was planning on splitting the other $50k equally between my 3 nieces and nephews (all are under the age of 10). Neither my parents or my other siblings need the money since they all make as much as I'll be making as an attending.

Questions:

1. Do I need a will of some sorts, or would it be as simple as designating these people as my beneficiaries on my accounts?

2. How would they go about finding out they are my beneficiaries if I were to die? Does the bank/brokerage firm contact them? How would said bank/brokerage firm know I died? Do I need to notify my brothers now that I'm placing one of them and my nieces and nephews as beneficiaries? Do I need to let them know which bank I bank with and which brokerage firm I use? Do they need my account numbers or just my general information?

3. Would anyone pay any taxes on this money when I died? I'm assuming no for the Roth IRA. What about the money in my checking/saving account? What about the life insurance money (once again free for me, so I'm assuming my program is paying the premiums on my behalf)?

4. What is the best way to designate these accounts to each individual? Would it be best to leave the Roth IRA and bank accounts to the my nieces and nephews and my life insurance money to my brother or vice versa?

Edit: If it matters, I have no debt.

Edit: Should I leave $10k for myself so it could pay for funeral expenses?
    Last edited by Romberg45; 06-12-2020, 07:21 AM.