Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting online business

Hi all

I am a medical student who is hoping to start an online woodworking business. I have been woodworking as a hobby for many years and have been selling my work for about 2 years. I've had some success and have some products that I know would sell well in an online business format. I am hoping to brand myself and start a business on the side, however I am completely unsure of how to do this. Any advice would be helpful.

Some questions of mine:

Up front costs: websites, logos, etc. What other costs should I consider

Taxes: What should I consider for taxes? Do I need to register as a business? When is it a good situation to form an LLC?

Credit cards: Is there a way to deduct business expenses? Are there good credit cards for small businesses?

Thanks

I don't have much to contribute to your questions, but you can probably toy around with making your own logos and making a website at a low cost.  I wonder if you'd sell more at trade shows or weekend festivals.

Others will likely chime in with helpful stuff.

I did a good bit of furniture building in med school and residency.  It's a great hobby that can be done as cheap or expensive as you'd like.  A co-resident and I took a class at the local museum, and it was well worth the cost.  I highly recommend doing that your M4 year if there are local offerings.

Feel free to PM me if you want to exchange product photos. Always great to see what people make

Comment

Hi all

I am a medical student who is hoping to start an online woodworking business. I have been woodworking as a hobby for many years and have been selling my work for about 2 years. I’ve had some success and have some products that I know would sell well in an online business format. I am hoping to brand myself and start a business on the side, however I am completely unsure of how to do this. Any advice would be helpful.

Some questions of mine: