Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post - question about career path

Hi everyone!

Long time follower/lurker and first time poster.  I am a little apprehensive about posting because I know colleagues of mine also read this site, so trying to maintain some anonymity but also providing enough info for advice.  Since WCI graciously decided to create this new subforum for beginners, I decided to take a jump and see if anyone has any input to my situation!  Thank you for reading!

Just stating in advance, our net worth is higher than most typical people in our situation because both my spouse and I worked a couple years prior to medical school (and started putting money in Roth IRA and 401k then) and also worked as a hospitalist right after residency before pursuing fellowship. My spouse had no student loans and I had low-six figures worth of debt when I graduated medical school, but paid it off prior to starting fellowship.  We were also given an inheritance that has helped us.   But the main reason is because I discovered WCI during medical school and applied many of his principles early on and have been living like residents!

Stage of Life: Fellowship in a specialty within internal medicine

Social Situation: Both working, one young child at home (dual-physician but both in fellowship)

Annual Income: $100-150k+ depending on how much my spouse and I moonlight

State of residence:  OH

Insurance Policies: Life insurance  30 year term 2M each

Adequate auto and home insurance

Debts:  None except credit cards that we pay in full monthly.

Assets:

Home: ~ $350-400k

• His 401(a): 60k

• Her 401(a): 85k

• Her 401(k): 60k

• His 403(b): 40k

• Her 403(b): 35k

• Her 457: 65k

• His 457: 20k

• His Roth IRA: 50k

• Her Roth IRA: 85k

Question:

1) I actually don't have questions in regards to investments because I basically buy all index funds and just set it and forget it.