Intermediate term investing, loathe to lose to inflation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intermediate term investing, loathe to lose to inflation

I am new to investing and looking for advice on how/where to invest $100,000 for the intermediate term. I am currently living in a rented town home but want to use this money as down payment on a house in the next 2 to 5 years. This money is not needed for anything else. My finances are basically in good order: I have 5 months emergency savings, adequate insurance, save 20+% for retirement, and have no debt. Fixed income investments seem like they will just lose value to inflation. Equity investments seem too volatile for the time frame. The time frame is flexible so I could delay purchasing a home if it meant not losing to inflation but I also don't want to get stuck waiting 10 or 15 years to buy a house. Any advice on specific investments or thoughts to help clarify the strategy would be appreciated.

If less than 5 years then cash/cash equivalents (such as I-bonds).

Comment

you could consider putting a portion in cryptocurrency stablecoins (USDC, GUSD, USDT) on a platform like blockfi, celsius, there are others, currently paying around 10%. would not consider risk free but personally over a 2-5 year time frame I would consider far less risk than equities.

Comment

I would never hold cash for five years. Especially now. But Cord is also not wrong--it's a decent enough default recommendation, and you could certainly do worse. I like the I-bond location for this as well. But good luck saving for a down payment at $10k per year.

Personally--and I know this will absolutely cause some here to stroke out--I put all of our money for this intermediate (2-5 year) term you are inquiring about in the Vanguard High-Yield Tax-Exempt Fund (VWALX). I understand the risk, and take it willingly.