X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice on paying off Student Loan vs Mortgage

Hello Everyone,

I am new to WCI. I am a new attending, for approximately 10 months now. I make approximately 320,000 gross income. I do have $5,000 of credit card debt monthly on expenses, trips and such, and take-home approximately 12-16,000 monthly depending if I moonlight. My main question is I am trying to pay off my mortgage and my student loans. Last year I refinanced my loans which are currently approximately $325,000 at 3.35%. Currently paying 3500 a month, 10-year loan. I did not move after residency and currently and living in my home which is 250,000, but worth around 450K currently, and we refinanced this recently to 2.591% from 3.875%. Currently paying 2200 a month, for a 15-year. I have been speaking with a friend who recommends the Dave Ramsey approach to do student loans first before mortgage, but my loans are more and if I accidentally die, my wife is not cosigned on this so she would not accrue this debt, which is my understanding. I do have disability insurance and live insurance.

Would it be more beneficial to pay of my student loans first or pay my mortgage first? Would you recommend paying the student loans because the interest rate is higher or the mortgage, because I could pay down the house faster and will feel some joy when I can have that paid off.

Thanks for all suggestions!

Wrote with Dragon so I may have some errors!

Student loans. No question.

Comment

Another vote for student loans

Comment

Student loans. You can't sell them if you come on hard times.

Comment

Student loans. You can sell your house, you can't sell your student loans.

Also, do you really "need" $5000 of monthly credit card bills? If you even trimmed a little off of those expenses, you could pay down your student loans faster and have even more fun money for longer.

Comment

You'll feel better paying off your student loans vs. your mortgage.

Comment