Capital Group/American Funds Roth IRA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Capital Group/American Funds Roth IRA

Hello and thank you in advance for your recommendations.

I am new to investments, however during residency was told that if I could contribute to a Roth IRA I was doing well for the time being. I of course found a financial advisor who recommended American Funds for a Roth IRA. Now that I am doing more research, I am seeing that the expense rations of the funds that I have are approximately 0.59-0.84% as well as have front end load fees of ~ 5.75% and selling fees of ~ 1%. Of course this was never disclosed to me and I was just told that these funds have performed well over the years.

I am currently in fellowship and have ~ $25,000 in the Roth IRA.

My funds through Captial Group/American Funds are:

AEPGX (ER 0.84%)
    ANCFX (ER 0.61%)
    ANEFX (ER 0.76%)
    ANWPX (ER 0.76%)
    AWSHX (ER 0.59%)

From what I am reading, it is generally recommended to go with Vanguard Index Funds for Roth IRA due to low expense ratios and fees.

Would you all recommend moving these to Vanguard, and if so which fees and what is the best way of transferring the funds? Currently I am still eligible to contribute to a Roth IRA given my fellowship income, however starting in July 2021 I will no longer be eligible. Therefore this is likely the last year that I would contribute to the Roth IRA. I have put in $3000 this year, and will put in $3000 prior to the deadline for 2020 tax year.

I really appreciate your time and help as well as your tolerance of my ignorance . Please let me know if further information is needed.