Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Underpayment tax concerns

Hi everyone,

So I was looking at my investment account and realized that I have about $20,000 of short term capital gains throughout the year. To decrease my tax burden, I have been using my 401k and have put in $16,000 this year. Therefore my income hasn't really changed, but my withholdings have gone down. I wasn't thinking about this till now. How can I calculate how much I'll owe the federal government and state government? If I send the payment now, before the year ends, will I be hit with an underpayment? I am concerned because I haven't been paying quarterly?

Sorry for the dumb question, I am new to investing, still a resident, and find taxes to be super confusing.

Any help would be much appreciated.

go learn about the concept of your “safe harbor” tax amount.

this number should be easy to determine for you. Then, you can determine if you might be subject to penalty without further action now

then come back with questions

Comment

why is a resident generating 20K in STCG tax......?

Comment

Originally posted by jacoavlu View Post
        go learn about the concept of your “safe harbor” tax amount.

this number should be easy to determine for you. Then, you can determine if you might be subject to penalty without further action now

then come back with questions
        I did look into that.

If I am not mistaken, I don't qualify for this.

1. I have not paid 90% of my total tax burden (paid taxes on 39k, but not on 20k).
        2. I thus far have paid less taxes this yr than last yr (not the same amount as last yr)

​​​​​

Comment

Originally posted by Peds View Post
          why is a resident generating 20K in STCG tax......?
          Because I maxed out my roth IRA, put a lot into my 401k, have no loans, don't have a SO or kids.