Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I use my high expense ratio PA 529 for additional asset protection?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I use my high expense ratio PA 529 for additional asset protection?

Pennsylvania offers asset protection from creditors if I invest in my home state 529, but their expense ratios are nearly double Vanguard's Nevada options (0.33 for the PA 529 total stock fund vs 0.18 for vanguard). I am a physician with good malpractice insurance (3M limit, 1M per occurrence), but there is always the possibility of a catastrophic injury resulting in a high dollar lawsuit that exceeds my coverage.

A lawsuit of that nature would be unlikely, but still entirely possible. Any advice on whether I should pay the higher in state fees for the extra security?

For reference:
    Vanguard options
    https://investor.vanguard.com/529-plan/ ... nd-returns

PA 529 options
    http://www.pa529.com/pdf/ip/IP-Disclosure-Statement.pdf

do you get a tax deduction?

otherwise agree, the likelihood of your 529 being confiscated are low.

Comment

PA is one of only 4 states that allows you to deduct contributions to any state's 529 plan. They tried to limit the provision to only PA this year, so be on future alert.

Sounds like a layer of expensive malpractice insurance expense to me. I say don't do it.
      Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

I live in PA now and kept my 529 in NY’s plan. Can still deduct although with Pas 3% flat tax it’s not a lot of savings.

NY’s plan is Currently the lowest cost Vanguard funds.

Comment