Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Malpractice Insurance dilemma -- will higher policy limits raise my risk?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Malpractice Insurance dilemma -- will higher policy limits raise my risk?

I am a physician in Florida, where the statutory minimum malpractice policy is $250K/$750K per incident/annum. This seems to be the amount carried by most of my colleagues. I realize that malpractice awards may easily exceed this limit, so I am wary about my own personal exposure. I could afford to carry higher limits (say, $500K/$1.5M), which would give me some peace of mind, but I am concerned about becoming the "deep pockets" in a suit that might involve other physicians or corporations, and therefore increasing my chance to be the focus of litigation in the first place. Are there any opinions how these competing factors balance out?

As for asset protection, my accounts are appropriately titled, etc, but my wage stream would be vulnerable to garnishment -- no kids, so I can't claim head of household, which would otherwise exempt wages.

Until a lawsuit is filed, an attorney will not know the limits of your malpractice coverage. As such, you are not a bigger target.

Comment

Once an action is underway, don't you think having $1M versus $250K in insurance will influence who the opposing counsel focuses on or drops? In Kirwan's book "The Asset Protection Guide for Florida Physicians," he describes typical strategies of plaintiff's attorneys to "sue everyone involved," and then whittle down the lawsuit from there depending on who is more able to pay a large settlement or judgment.

Comment

But then you have to look at the cost of the additional insurance compared to the cost of asset protection planning/ potential loss of control of some of your assets.