Asset protection for consulting in california

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asset protection for consulting in california

Hi all, new poster to WCI though I've tried to read some of the prior posts related to this topic.  Still very new to this.  Hopefully posting in the correct sub-forum.

Scenario: I am a physician (Pathologist) practicing and licensed in California. Currently a W2 employee looking to create an entity for part time consulting projects (low revenue at the moment, <75K annually but may increase later). For the foreseeable future I would be the only employee. These consulting projects (with the exception of medico-legal below) do not involve direct patient care activities. I am not seeing patients nor am I rendering diagnoses, though the projects typically exist within the healthcare sector; for example providing recommendations to other groups trying to streamline laboratory operations or creating new service lines.

Some of these consulting projects could, in theory, be completed by an experienced non-physician, though realistically my MD is a contributing factor to being selected as the consultant. However, the activities I would be undertaking do not require a specific license in the state of California.

The second type of consulting work would be medico-legal, where I am asked to provide expert witness or second opinion review for legal cases in with pathology clinical diagnoses have been rendered.

At the moment my primary reason for forming a corporation is to isolate consulting activities and shield assets related to those so my personal assets are not at play; favorable taxation is definitely a benefit but not the primary driver of this decision given low revenue at the moment. Since none of these consulting activities requires me to directly offer patient care services to patients, I believe (hopefully correctly) medical malpractice suits are a non-issue.

Questions: