X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PGY-3 in need of advice

Good morning everyone,

I will be starting an IM attending position in 9 months and I am concerned about asset protection. As a resident, I have sacrificed (and will continue to do so) by not having home internet, not using the AC/heater (unless under extreme weather), and living within my means. As a result, I have amassed a nice little nest egg that I would like to protect before I become an Attending.

This is what I was thinking of doing:

Me -- Nevada LLC --> LLC 1 (safe assets: investment account, checking account, high yield savings account, car); LLC 2 (pension plan account: Employer 401k, roth IRA, solo 401k when I start to moonlight); LLC 3+ (unsafe assets: future home and rental properties - all under land trust and LLC)

I will try to get the LLC language to have: Charging order protection, manager managed (I will be the manager), ability to add manager fees, ability to take loans, non-prorata distributions, operation agreement will not force distributions, no right to return capital language, restriction on transferbility, and officer appointment provision.

Do you think this will offer good asset protection? I never studied these things. I pieced the above together after doing some research. Obviously, I will need to hire an attorney, but I am trying to learn about it now, so that if someone tries to sell me horse manure, I can spot it a mile away.

Would anyone know what a reasonable price for a setup like that would be?

​​
    Last edited by Indest; 10-25-2020, 07:51 AM.

You already have made horse manure, all by your lonesome. But there are many firms out there willing to supply the horse, along with the board (ongoing costs) for the animal.